Breaking Down the Cost of a DUI: Fines, Fees, and Hidden Expenses

Breaking Down the Cost of a DUI: Fines, Fees, and Hidden Expenses

Most people don’t spend thousands on a night out. But if you end up getting a DUI, that fun night with friends can easily end up costing you that much and more. A DUI won’t just seriously affect your life – it will take a chunk out of your bank account. How much is a DUI? There are a lot of factors that go into it, but in Oklahoma, the total cost of a DUI is likely to be at least $10,000. Let’s break down DUI fines, fees, and other costs you may not even think of.


While it’s not technically a DUI fine, bail will be the first thing you’ll have to pay after your arrest. For a misdemeanor DUI, your bail will likely be set at the same amount as the fine, which is $1,000, but it can be lower. If you have a criminal record, multiple DUIs, or a very high blood alcohol concentration (BAC), it can also be higher. You can post bail using a bail bond service, which will cost about 10% of your bond amount. You’ll get your bail back if you attend all your court appearances, but not your bond fee, so it still contributes to the cost of a DUI.

Attorney’s Fees

Once you post bail – or even before – you’ll want to contact an experienced DUI attorney. A lawyer can help you in many ways, like getting the charges reduced, negotiating a plea deal, and guiding you through the process. An average case usually costs around $5,000, but the cost of attorney’s fees varies based on the amount of time your case takes and whether you have prior DUIs. Still, this is one DUI cost you don’t want to skimp on. A good attorney can help keep you out of jail and minimize the long-term consequences of your DUI.

Towing and Storage Fees

Once you’re out of jail, you’ll also need to get your car back. Chances are, it will be impounded when you’re arrested. That means you’ll need to pay the towing company and the storage facility before they’ll release it to you. Depending on how long it was there, you can expect to pay a few hundred dollars at least.

DUI Fines

So, how much is a DUI fine? In Oklahoma, you can be hit with up to a $1,000 fine for your first offense, $2,500 for your second, and $5,000 for your third. The key here is “up to”: a judge doesn’t have to make you pay the full amount. The fine will depend on the district, the judge, and previous criminal history. Your attorney may even be able to negotiate a lower fine.


Not all DUIs involve restitution, but if you caused an accident that damaged property or injured another person, the court can order you to pay for it. The amount can vary widely depending on the amount of damage: For property, you’ll owe whatever it takes to repair the damage. For an injury, you could be ordered to pay medical bills. You can also be taken to civil court, which will really increase the cost of a DUI.

Court Costs

Court costs are separate from your DUI fine and restitution. These are fees the court charges you for various services and appearances, like opening a case, filing motions, attending hearings, and issuing judgments. They can vary based on the number of times you need to appear, how much paperwork you file, and the district you’re in, but will probably total $1,000 or more.

Probation Fees

Most courts in Oklahoma now charge “probation supervision fees,” which can range from $50 to $80 per month for the entire term of your probation. This is important because many first-time DUIs end up as deferred sentences, which means you’re sentenced to probation and your case is dismissed if you complete it successfully. Probation can be longer than the maximum jail time of 1 year, and is usually 18 months. At $50 per month, that’s another $900 – but probation keeps you out of jail, so it’s one cost of a DUI that’s well worth the price.

IDAP and Ignition Interlock Devices

As of November 2022, everyone whose license has been suspended because of a DUI is required to complete the Impaired Driving Accountability Program (IDAP) in order to get it back. You’ll need to install an ignition interlock device in your car, which is a breathalyzer you blow into in order to start the engine. There’s a $150 fee to enroll in IDAP, plus a DMV fee to reinstate your license. You’ll also pay about $75 to install the interlock device and another $75 per month to maintain it.

Assessments and Courses

In addition to a DUI fine and probation or jail time, you’ll also have to submit to a drug and alcohol assessment, take an Alcohol and Drug Substance Abuse Course (ADSAC), and attend a Victim Impact Panel. These courses are required, but you’ll still have to pay for them. The cost varies depending on where you live, which school you attend, and how many hours you need to complete. The assessment costs about $150, ADSAC anywhere from $175 to $375, and a Victim Impact Panel about $50 to $75.

Transportation Costs

If the cost of a DUI already seems high, wait until your car insurance hears about it. One study found that after a DUI, car insurance in Oklahoma goes up 44%, from an average of $1,787 to an average of $2,566. And even though you’ll have to participate in IDAP, which means you can still technically drive, we’re willing to bet you’ll be ridesharing a lot more (just don’t hop on an electric scooter – you can still get a DUI).

The Bottom Line

There you have it: The costs of a DUI can really add up. But if the mistake has been made, there’s no going back. You have to move forward and not only figure out your finances, but your future. A good attorney can help with both – negotiating to keep you out of jail and guiding you through any financial assistance programs available to you. Contact the Tulsa DUI Guy to talk about the specifics of your case and how we can help you.